The 2021 Courage in Journalism Award

The 2021 Courage in Journalism Award

If you are interested in attending the 2021 Courage in Journalism Award ceremony, please email

An event hosted by the Courage in Journalism programme.

Published 24 Mar 2021

This event has already passed. To register for future events please click here
Across the world today, media freedoms are increasingly under threat.

Reporters Without Borders has recorded the deaths of over 900 journalists in the past decade.  Most alarmingly, two thirds of these deaths took place in countries not at war but at peace, with journalists themselves being deliberately targeted as they pursue truth and justice.

The 2021 Legatum Institute

 Courage in Journalism Award ceremony

will take place online via Zoom on Wednesday 24th March at 2pm GMT.

During the event we will hear from renowned journalists, including Christina Lamb OBE, Con Coughlin, Mike Thomson and Abeer Saady as they raise our awareness to what it’s like working on the ground in some of the most dangerous countries in the world, and discuss how we can champion better protection for journalists. The event will also, importantly, present an opportunity for us to stand together, dedicating ourselves to improving press freedom globally.

Please click here if you would like to attend.

Now in its third year, the Courage in Journalism Award was established following the death of Daphne Caruana Galizia, the respected Maltese freelance journalist who was murdered by a car bomb in October 2017. Daphne’s son Paul worked at the Institute and, following her death, we created this Award to honour her legacy and shine a spotlight on the dangers faced by journalists worldwide.

Every year, the Courage in Journalism Award recognises the journalists whose lives have had significant impact in the pursuit of truth and justice and who have been tragically killed in the last 12 months.

To read the profiles of the journalists who were killed and who have been considered for the Award, please click here.

Please click here if you would like to attend.